The Saturday Escape

I think this must be the first day since I’ve moved to med school that I have managed to escape. To put that into perspective, i’m closer to starting second year than I am to the start of the year.

So where did I escape to??

The local park.

Yep that’s right. A 20 minute walk to a local park.

The Escape
Sometimes all you need is a little escape from reality.

Yet it did what it was meant to. I walked around (spent 3 hours just walking about this park), lapping the lake, eating ice cream (with sunglasses on, and yes I know it’s only just the start of march!) and a bit of reading. Today; I did nothing, and it was the best nothing I’ve done in a long time.

It’s important to look after yourself once in a while, something I know I’m terrible at. If you don’t look after yourself, you can’t be there when others need your help. Find something that interests you, calms you or makes you laugh. Clear your head, then, and only then, will you be able to fully commit yourself to your stresses.

Author: grumpymedicblog

A graduate entry medical student, weaving his way through med school.

Leave a Reply

